What is Google Ads?
Most chances are you already know what Google Ads is, at least an idea since you are searching on how to create profitable Google Ad campaigns.
But there is always more to unpack, and it is important to lay grounds for better understanding of this in order to optimize it.
Google Ads is the paid advertisement platform that works on the PPC ( Pay-per-Click) Adveritsing or marketing channel.
Advertisers, whether you, the small businesses or any seller, sometimes the marketers are supposed to pay only for the click made on the advertisement placed.
Image Source: Hootsuite blog
Sometime, it also works on the model of CPM, that means Click per impressions or say views.
It has been an effective way of marketing or advertising the products online using the paid search marketing.
When most of the world is on the internet, Google becomes the place where every potential buyer meets the seller.
Image Source: NP
Organic traffic and paid search marketing are the two key components that play major roles in assuring that the right buyer meets the relevant sellers and vice versa.
Google Ads are a highly effective and efficient advertising method to drive targetted traffic to your website.
It allows you to find the right customer for your business while they are searching the relevant products or services that you are selling.
Not just that, since Google Ads bring heavy traffic to your website, it also allows more engagement and broader reach of your brand.
Image Source: Instapage
With more ads, you are more likely to get higher sales, more product inquiries, phone orders and in-store visits as well.
What you are basically doing with Google Ads is creating various ad campaigns to feature ads placed on the Google SERPs ( Search engine result pages).
Now, your ad will appear on only those SERPs coming from the relevant keywords you optimize your ad with.
So only the relevant people who already seach for the products or services you’re selling come across your ads, making more sense for them to click and buy.
Image Source: Wordstream
You also need to remember that Google Ads can further expand on other platforms and across different channels such as Blogger, YouTube and Google Display Network.
These Google Ad campaigns are highly customizable and offer you various features to work with.
Remember you can start or pause these Ad campaigns anytime you want.
Since it only cuts costs from your balance payment only when someone clicks on your ads.
- Why Should You Advertise On Google?
- How Google AdWords Work?
- How Landing Page Plays The Role In Google Adword?
- Step-By-Step Guide To Create A Profitable Google Ad Campaign
- Tips, Strategies And Best Practises For Your Google Ad Campaigns
Why Should You Advertise On Google?
Well, to begin with, Google is just the largest, most prominent and highly used seach engine with receiving more than 5 billion search queries just a day.
Now what simply means people are there, and people are the potential customers for businesses.
Image Source: V12Data
So you as a business owner never get shortage on that aspect. The potential is limitless with Google as an advertising platform for reaching out to buying-intent customers.
Google is the global resource for people to find products, ask questions, purchase online and much more.
According to Google, advertisers make $8 for every $1 they spend on Google Ads.
It is easier to advertise on Google with higher ROI as compared to any other digital or traditional platform.
How Google AdWords Work?
There was a time when anyone could bid on any keyword they wanted.
So there wasn’t much relevance factor between what’s being searched and what was advertised.
Then, Quality Score (QS) came in! We’ ve already mentioned how crucial a factor it is for how good or bad the quality of the keyword is.
Now, you need to understand what and how metrics work with Adword.
Image Source: NP
Each and every keyword comes with their own Quality Score (QS). Difffernet quality scores come from the determining factor – relevancy.
It is about how relevant the result is to what has been searched as a keyword. The relevance is comparative as well, depending upon what you are comparing with.
The same keyword can have different quality scores to correspond with another key term or terms.
The second factor has to be the CTR (Click-through Rate) of the keywords, both expected and earlier as well.
How many people are viewing your ad or seen your ad is different from how many of them clicked on it.
And this view of your ad gets called “impression”.
So how many clicks you get on your ad to the respect of how many people have seen your ad tells you alot about your ad and other factors.
The calculator of clicks to the respect of the views is called Click-through Rates (CTR).
Image Source: Zero Limit Web
Higher CTR of any ad simply means that your keyword relevancy is better than the lower CTR assuming the copy and other involved factors are great.
Google checks out the history of CTR and further forecasts an expected one to find out how well your advertisement is more likely to match with searches on the web.
You need to understand the history of the CTR and predicted one, both are essential figures for your ad campaign.
How Landing Page Plays The Role In Google Adword?
Another essential factor that plays a crucial role in running ads is your landing page, and it is very well a benefactor in the success of these Google Ads.
Even if you get people to click on your ad, the deciding factor remains where they will go once they click on the ad link.
Image Source : LanderApp
It has to be a landing page, your website that again has to be very relevant and expected to whatever the user searched for and clicked on.
If the landing page gives anything other than what expected, irrelevant or even underwhelming, they are more likely to leave the page.
Make sure the landing page is user-friendly, easy to grasp on whatever it is communicating to the user.
It has to be scannble and easy to read.
Image Source: SB
You need to realize that if anything feels tough to understand for the audience, navigation is off or seems sketchy, people will leave, ending up a bounce for your ad, not conversion.
And, too many people bouncing means higher bounce rate signalling Google that there is something wrong with the ad or the relevancy to the targeted audience.
Step-By-Step Guide To Create A Profitable Google Ad Campaign
Figuring Out Whether There Is A Customer Demand
Adwords can really work when you have a demand for your product in Google search.
if there are not enough potential customers searching for your product or customers who are not preferring to search on Google, then obviously, AdWord won’t for you.
So, before you start working and expecting out Googl Ad to be the magic potion for your business to grow, ensure the customer demand.
It is easy to find out what people are searching these days or on whether a particular topic is hot on the web or not.
Image Source: Keyword Tool
You use Keyword Planner from Google AdWord to do your own free keyword research.
Keyword research allows you to see what terms people are searching for, or what search terms have how many search volumes.
It will also help you out finding other relevant key phrases.
Here are some key things you need to look at through the keyword research :
- What is the search volume of your primary keyword/topic?
- What are the search volumes of the other related keywords?
- How much is the SEO difficulty?
- What is the paid difficulty of the keyword(s)?
- How much is CPC on the keyword(s)?
To know this information easily, another free keyword research tool highly suggested is Neil Patel’s Ubersuggest.
Image Source: NP
You would basically learn about the popularity of your key topic, the competition you will get and how easy or difficult it will be going to rank on it.
Other aspect you should think about, the people who will be drived by this traffic whether they will buy your product or not?
That brings another crucial part of this process to check- Intent of the keywords. You have seen the keyword intent should be buying, then only it will benefit you.
Apart from that, see whether you can leverage information to offer a product or what potential solution (your product) you can provide to this target area.
Create And Set A Google Ad Account
To create and set up a Google Ad Account, make sure you first have or create a Google Account.
It is better if you use a different, dedicated or business-focussed Google account to make things easier for you to manage.
Once you got your account, just go to www.ads.google.com and Sign in.
Image Source: SparrowBoost
After signing in, you will get a question prompted at you asking “What’s your main advertising goal”?
Then you will provide your business name and website.
Now, make sure you have a fully-functioning website and landing page ready to link your ads to.
Image Source: Everest Agency
Because once you set up your account, Google will be scanning your website to get more details and also verify if it is a real business.
Once it is scanned and verified, you will see the window as above. From there you need to click “Next” which wil lead you to the option to create your first campaign.
And it further allows you to create your Google Ad account with some more prompted windows and fill ups.
You also will be asked to confirm the business information.
Well, this is very important as you won’t be able to change this information in the future, so make sure you fill in the right information.
See Whether You Afford To Bid For Top Keywords Against Your Competitor
Before you get into creating the keyword list for your campaign, you need to make sure that you can go ahead with it.
Lot of small business owners make this mistake of going after the top keywords and then within a few days of the ad running up, they decide to put it down.
Why? Because they came to know they bite more than they can chew.
Image Source: Wishpond Blog
Since the competition is high on the keywords, and so the CPC, they are bleeding out money from their busineess possibly not bringing much results for different reasons.
And Now, they cannot keep it up running long enough to bear the fruits. You do have to see whom you are competing with.
If they are giant corporations, well they are more than okay with opening floodgates of money to push out there and everywhere, ruling over a bunch of top keywords.
But you, on the other hand, have to think about it.
So, how do you figure out whether advertising on these top keywords is affordable for you or not?
You need to pull out a comparison between two figures, one being your business Maximum CPC and other is the estimated CPC of the keyword.
Image source: SEJ
Make sure your maximum CPC is always greater or at least somewhat greater than the estimated keyword CPC.
To calculate your Maximum CPC, find out :
- Conversion rate of your website
- Profit per customer
- Target Ad profit margin
Here’s the formula to calculate your Maximum CPC :
Max CPC : Profit per customer X (1 – Profit margin) x website conversion rate
For Example, if your an average profit per customer is $500 and your conversion rate is 1% and comfortable with 30 percent profit margins,
Here’s how you can calculate your Max CPC
Max CPC = $500 X (1-30) X 1% = $3.50
So, now you can choose the keywords with CPC somewhat around your maximum $3.50 but not more than that.
In case you want to go for a keyword with estimated CPC $8, now for that, you can increase your Max CPC, and to increase that, you either increase profit per customer or your conversion rate.
Selecting The Right Keywords For Your Campaign
Once you know how much you can afford to spend on your ad, you have your ad budget in your hand.
The next crucial step you need to optimize to make your ad campaign profitable is picking a keyword.
You can find the popular keyword research tool offered by Google Adword itelsef, called Google Keyword Planner.
Image Source: Ahrefs
Start searching for the terms that come to your mind related to your product or service.
Put yourself in the customer’s shoes and think about what your potential customer will search for.
Do not overthink of analze because people just search, they don’t ponder on it. Usually the search terms are two or three words, so start from there.
Type all the search terms you can think of. Further it asks you to set your product category, so find it and set the right one.
Set the country and language you are targeting as well.
Image Source: Ahrefs
You can use the filtration options to filter out the keyword or terms accordingly. Choose what kind of keyword or terms you don’t want as well.
After hitting the “Get Ideas” button, you will see it offering you different keyword ideas.
Check the “keyword ideas” tab and now you can see the list of all the potential keywords you can target for.
You also will be seing their average monthly searches and suggested bids as well.
Now you have to aim for the keywords that give you more results in less spent money.
Image Source: Ahrefs
Aim for keywords that have more searches per month and cost you less on an average. This can be a great start to your ad campaign.
You can also use MOZ’s Keyword Explorer, a paid SEO tool to find more keywords with extensive details and features.
On other hand, SEMrush is also a great tool for keyword research along with added features on spying on your competition.
Image source: MOZ
Remember, that keyword research is a huge deal and an extensive process with a learning curve.
It takes time, tool, investment and expertise to throw it off the park for your ad campaign.
Keywords are based upon three different factors :
What Users Have Been Searching Already
According to Google Analytics, you can figure out what users are searching already on your site, so you can provide them that exactly.
You can optimize your ad campaign according to that for better results.
The Seasonality Of The Keywords
There are certain keywords which work the best or only active, heavily searched on the web around a particular event, few weeks or even a few months such as Super Bowl.
You can always use this opportunity to reach maximum audience leveraging seasonality-based keywords for your ads.
What’s Trending on Internet
Use Google Trends, a platform offered by Google itself where you can see what people have been searching for.
You can see what people, places, topics anre locations are the most popular in the search and social media.
Image Source: Shane Barker
Leverage the popularity of the keywords to make your ads reach to all the relevant audiences.
There are three primary match types you need to know on Google Adwords :
- Broad : Any word or term related to you’ve selected
- Phrase : Words that being used in the phrase
- Exact : Exact word selected
You need to find the right mix of these keywords for your ad campaign.
If you choose too many of one, it can either increase your budget unnecessarily or bring down your results.
Tips, Strategies And Best Practises For Your Google Ad Campaigns
Using a PPC Planning Template
Image Source: Hubspot Blog
It is easy to get derailed from your Google ad campaign projects, especially when you aren’t much aware of how it goes.
There are various Planning templates available on the web that you can download to make your journey easier.
It helps you stay on your course and tells you what steps to take and how to move forward. You will be more efficient to manage your ad campaigns from one place.
Never Use Broad Keywords Terms
Since keywords are the integral aspect of Google Ad campaigns, you really need to nail it down.
Make sure you keep testing and tweaking your PPC marketing strategy and Google Ad campaign.
You can definitely try all kinds of relevant keywords but if you are choosing the keywords that are too broad, it is only going to dilute the overall relevancy.
Image Source: SEW
Selecting broader keywords makes your ad reach out to an irrelevant audience or wrong audience that means less number of clicks and higher expenditure on the ads.
If your Google Ad campaign is bleeding money and doesn’t bring good news oftentimes, broader keywords can be one of the hideous villains behind it.
That’s why you also need to always keep reviewing your current staratey. See what keywords you are using.
On top of that, review what works and bring you results. See what keywords are behind that success and bring the most of those using mix and match.
It is essential to keep adding, changing, removing keywords from your keyword mix to see what combinations are working best.
Don’t Run Ads That Are Irrelevant
If you are running ads that are irrelevant itself to your audience or targeted audience, you aren’t going to get much clicks.
Your ads need to match the user’s intent, even the intention of purchasing, information or other intents are essential in this part.
Whatever ad you’re creating, the header, ad copy, graphics, the keywords, the solution you are providing should be something the searcher is looking for, otherwise it is a dead fish.
Make your ads more relating, relevant and to-the-point. Something that is highly dedicated to the particular audience you are targeting.
Improve Your QS ( Quality Score)
Image Source: SEL
The QS, the quality score is something Google determines the ranking of the ad.
You need to make sure that you get high QS so it gets better ranking and better placements on the Google SERPs as well.
If you have a low quality score, it means there will be less impression on your ads, so low reachablity and lesser chance for conversion.
Google suggests the Quality Score to be always improving and going up.
You Need To Optmize Your Ad Landing Page
When you place your ad on Google and any user clicks on it, they are going to reach a certain Ad landing page.
This is a crucial part of the sales funnel, the product page where you need to convince them to buy the product even more.
The aim for this page is to provide required information about the product, how it can benefit them, what more they are getting and basically anything and everything you can say to sell your product.
Image Source: NP
Further, the objective here is to take your potential customer to the next checkout page.
However, sometimes people often directly plugin the checkout page at the Google Ad.
That is not advisable because customers do need enough information and persuasion to go through the checkout page.
So, first of all, make sure you have your landing page in place with an ideal ad copy or sales pitch.
Google Ads Key Terminology
Google Ads is an PPC ad platform based on a bidding system. The advertiser selects the maximum bid amount they are willing to pay for the click on their ad.
So if you want better ad placement, and so higher conversion, you must be willing to bid higher.
There are three options available for bidding :
- CPC : The most common bidding option is Cost-per-Click where you will be charged everytime someone clicks on your ad.
- CPM : This bidding option is called Cost per Mille, or per thousand impressions where you will need to pay for every click on an ad shown to every thousand people.
- CPE : CPE is cost per engagement where you will be charged when someone takes predetermined action after clicking your ad.
Keywords are the integral part of Google Ad campaign. You cannot pull off an ad campaign without understanding the Keywords, and how they function.
When any user types a particular search term or query on Google, it shows the results according to the keyword and searcher’s intent as well.
These are the keywords that define what a searcher is looking for, and also for what purpose as well.
For example, some keywords can explain searchers looking for a product to buy now whereas some keywords are more to get information.
Keywords are used to target the potential customer the advertiser wants to sell the products.
It also helps optimize the ad to increase its reachablity and higher ROI on Google Ads.
CTR ( Click-Through-Rate)
Your CTR is the number of clicks you get on your ad as comparison or proportion to the number of views you are getting.
It is essential you know about the CTR when you are dealing with ad campaigns on Google Ads.
Also, higher CTR means high quality ads, and high quality ads that match with search intent or buying intent users to the targeted and relevant keywords.
Image Source: SEJ
You need to choose one of the three different campaign types from search display or video.
You will get to choose the campaign type when you start creating the paid campaign.
There are campaign types :
- Search Ads : These are the text ads that are displayed in the search result pages of Google.
- Display Ads : These ads are usually image-based and often shown on the various web pages of the Google Display Network.
- Video Ads : These kinds of ads are somewhere from six to fifteen seconds and appear on Youtube.
Google Ads are usually displayed on the search result pages of Google or the web pages of Google Display Network (GDN).
GDN is basically a network of various websites allowing space to display the Google Ads where these ads can be text or image.
These ads often present the content relevant to the targetted keywords. One of the most popular display network ads of Google are their Google shopping ads and app campaigns.
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